1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2001 Tundra AC Limited 4WD: did my timing belt jump?

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by kulldox, Apr 27, 2024.

1. Apr 27, 2024 at 8:06 PM
    kulldox

kulldox [OP] New Member

Member:
    Bellevue WA
    Vehicle:
    2001 Black Tundra AC Limited 4WD TRD
    Hi,

I'm a newbie with truks in general and with Tundra specifically.
    I'm a decent DIYer, so I thought it would be fun to have some project car. So when I saw a 2001 Tundra AC Limited 4WD with 280k miles on the marketplace, I went and got it.

It is in crank no run condition. So I had to tow it. Cosmetically it has some bangs here and there, but I'm ok. I can fix that. :)

So, for the past few days I'm trying to start it up. Here is what I did so far.

1. Checked all the fuses and relays. All good. Changed the fuel pump relay just in case. The original one was a little bit mangled.
    2. Cleaned the MAF and Throttle.
    3. There are no error codes, no matter what I do. The RPMs on the board tach is no jumping during crank, but on the OBDII scaner it does increase to over 100.
    4. Checked all the ignition coils. All but one seem to be ok, they got power and ground. One of them has some cracks but I think it should be good enough just for starting. I'll definitely replace them later. I couldn't check for spark yet.